Electronic Press Kit

Catherine Gunther to release new Single “Friends” Out Now and EP ‘A Dangerous Game’ August 30th 2021.



Somewhere in a small coastal town, hung in mist and shadow, lies the resting place of a once grand romantic love. Now it’s spirit roams free, twisted and haunting, its melancholic heart singing in warning.

On July 26th 2021 Catherine will be releasing the single “Friends” off her upcoming EP A Dangerous Game, a track that is full of a lot of explosive emotions and cold anger. It’s about the loss of trust when someone close to you decides to use your vulnerabilities against you. 

A Dangerous Game is a dark and enchanting collection of songs charting different forms of love and destruction; the damage of a toxic lover, the hurt of an unexpected ending, the loss of oneself, the betrayal of a confidant, and the strength that can be found to rise above it all. 

Catherine Gunther is an Alt-Folk/Americana singer-songwriter. Known for her dark and melancholic style she has a way with words that haunt the heart and won’t let go. 

A Dangerous GameA Dangerous Game is her third EP, following Livin’ On the Land (2015) and Bittersweet Memories (2016). Her work has all been well received and received nationwide airplay on community radio. She has also performed a various music festivals including Tamworth Country Music Festival, Urban Country Music Festival and Bleach* Festival as part of the Gold Coast’s Commonwealth Games Cultural Program.

More recently has already released two singles from A Dangerous Game; Buried Alive (2018) and Dangerous (2019). 

Triple J’s Nkechi Anele (Roots N’ All) described Buried Alive (2018) as: 

‘If this song was the weather it would be a thick dense fog – there is something hauntingly captivating and utterly frightening about this track. I’m going to sleep with my nightlight on for the rest of the year now.’ 

Catherine lives in Sydney, Australia. 

Contact Details

Catherine Gunther – catherineguntherofficialmusic@gmail.com 


Artist Bio​

Catherine Gunther has been writing, recording and performing music since 2014. In this time she has released three EPs, Livin’ On The Land (2015), Bittersweet Memories (2016) and A Dangerous Game (2021), plus singles Buried Alive (2018), Dangeous (2019) and Friends (2021).

Her latest EP A Dangerous Game was produced by Golden Guitar Winning producer Jared Adlam. Friends, the single lifted from the EP, spent 5 weeks in the AMRAP Metro Radio Charts, peaking at #5, received rotation on community radio across the country and was well reviewed. 

Her catalogue of music has received extensive nationwide airplay on community radio. She also has been nominated for a number of awards over the years, most notably Emerging Artist of the Year and People’s Choice Award Top 10 at the 2016 Gold Coast Music Awards. Catherine has also performed at some Australia’s premier country music festivals including Tamworth Country Music Festival (NSW), Urban Country Music Festival (QLD) and Bleach* Festival (QLD).

She has graduated from the Bachelor of Popular Music from the Queensland Conservatorium of Music in 2017.


  • Livin’ On The Land EP (2015)
  • Bittersweet Memories EP (2016)
  • Buried Alive – Single (2018)
  • Dangerous – Single (2019)
  • “Friends” – Single (2021)
  • A Dangerous Game – EP (2021)


  • Bleach* Festival 2018
  • Tamworth Country Music Festival 2018
  • Buskers By The Creek Festival 2017
  • Tamworth Country Music Festival 2017
  • Buskers By The Creek Festival 2016
  • Mt Tambourine Scarecrow Festival 2016
  • Urban Country music Festival – Voice of Urban Competitor 2016
  • Tamworth Country Music Festival 2016
  • Tamworth Country Music Festival 2015
  • Buskers By The Creek Festival 2015
  • Woodford Folk Festival 2014/15